TRACES Announces Debut EP Heart Of Gold

We are excited to announce the debut EP Heart of Gold from exciting new artist TRACES. Inspired by a cornucopia of influences spanning from Indie-Pop, R&B and Hip-Hop to Classic American Soul and Blues, TRACES (20 year old Tim Dehnert) creates music that seamlessly breaks down genre barriers. Heart of Gold will be released on October 20. Says Grimy Goods of the dynamic first single “idbh”, “Reveling in a variety of synths and drum machine bass drops, ‘idbh’ thunders away between Dehnert’s lush crooning.”

The single is now available to stream and buy on digital platforms HERE.

Heart of Gold is a bold statement from the newcomer and the beginning of much more to come over the next year to reveal the many musical layers that are TRACES. The EP is about the idea of being desperate for a heart of gold, and how growing up and being self-aware is helpful but also detrimental when nothing seems to make sense. Originally from San Diego, Tim moved to LA last year and struggled to find his footing when adjusting to the new city and navigating the industry. He experienced the feeling of knowing where he needed to be, but never fully recovering or getting through the struggle. This experience is apparent on the EP with each track – “Trouble in Mind” details the experience of overcoming others assumptions, “Majesty” on gaining control of your life, “Black Cadillac” on isolation, and closing with “Haunted,” an account of realizing that we are helpless but not hopeless. As a collective whole, the EP brings the listener through highs and lows with explosive hooks, powerful beats coupled with softer more vulnerable vocals.

TRACES first came on our radar with a series of 2016 singles, “Share Your Love,” Do Better,” and “Hypnotized,” which have collectively achieved over 3 million Spotify streams, several million YouTube views and critical praise from Ones to Watch, Neon Gold and more. He recently made his bold live debut at The Echo in LA to a packed house, with much more to come.

Heart of Gold Track List:
1. Trouble In Mind
2. Majesty
3. idbh.
4. Awake
5. Black Cadillac pt. I
6. Haunted

Share on Tumblr