The Sheepdogs

The Sheepdogs sign to Dine Alone, premiere new video

The Sheepdogs will release their third album Future Nostalgia on October 2nd, 2015 via Dine Alone Records in the United States. The highly-anticipated collection, mixed by Vance Powell (Jack White) in Nashville, brings the band back to their 70s-rock inspired roots and is the follow up to their self-titled, award-winning album in 2012. Click here to watch the lyric video for single “Downtown,” premiering via Baeble Music. Fans can pre-order the album on iTunes HERE, and can also pre-order bundles including merch here
Produced by lead vocalist and songwriter Ewan Currie alongside engineer Matt Ross-Spang (former engineer at Memphis’ Sun Studios) the 18 freshly-minted tracks on Future Nostalgia were recorded in the quiet and idyllic setting of Stony Lake, Ontario, a conscientious choice by the band to ensure they kept all distractions at bay and the recording process as natural as possible. The band, comprised of CurrieRyan Gullen (bass/vox), Sam Corbett (drums/vox), Shamus Currie (keys/horns) and Rusty Matyas (guitar/vox), set up camp up for several weeks in a cottage in the remote country where they trucked in equipment to build a studio in order to record their latest effort.  Says Currie, “We worked from morning ‘til night, but we kept it loose, had a real good time, and came away with a rock n’ roll record”.
The latest record has many flavors showcasing the band’s creative license when left to their own devices ranging from the catchy, signature-sounding single “Downtown” to the introspective, and soulful groove of “Bad Lieutenant” to “Help Us All”, a fresh take on a vintage vibe featuring a trombone solo from Ewan’s brother Shamus. Another highlight is the laid back, good-time, backyard jam “Same Old Feeling”, as well as the closing 6 tracks which flow one into the other to create a cohesive medley, much like the band did on their debut LP Learn and Burn.
The Sheepdogs have embarked on a North American tour including many festival appearances across the U.S. and Canada. See full routing below, and click here for more information.
Future Nostalgia Track listing:
1. I’m Gonna Be Myself
2. I Really Wanna Be Your Man
3. Downtown
4. Jim Gordon
5. Bad Lieutenant
6. Jim Sullivan
7. Back Down
8. Help Us All
9. Take A Trip
10. Same Old Feeling
11. Nothing All Of The Time
12. Darryl & Dwight
13. Where I Can Roam
14. The Bridge City Turnaround
15. Plastic Man
16. Giving It Up (For My Baby)
17. I Get By
18. Where I Can Roam (Reprise)
Upcoming Tour Dates
7/3         Montreal, QC @ Métropolis (Montreal Jazz Festival)
7/4         Elliot Lake/Rainy River District, ON @ Elliot Lake Heritage Days
7/5         Thunder Bay, ON @ Thunder Bay Blues Fest
7/8         Calgary, AB @ Calgary Stampede
7/18       Colwood, BC @ Rock The Shores 2015
7/26       Oro Medonte, ON @ Wayhome Music and Arts Festival (Burl Creek Event Grounds)
8/7         Regina, SK @ Regina Folk Festival 2015
8/8         Burnaby, BC @ Burnaby Blues & Roots Festival 2015
8/15       Jasper, AB @ Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge (100th Birthday Celebration)
8/16       Fort McMurray, AB @ MacDonald Island Park
8/18       Lethbridge, AB @ Whoop-Up Days Family Festival
8/28       Toronto, ON @ Rogers Centre (Blue Jays Summer Fan Fridays)
9/4         Vanderpool, TX @ Utopiafest
9/15       Windsor, ON  @ The Coliseum at Caesars w/Avett Brothers
9/19       Ottawa, ON @ Landsdowne Park (CityFolk 2015)
9/26       Pittsburgh, PA @ Thrival Fest
11/27     Winnipeg, MB @ RBC Convention Centre (Grey Cup Festival Concert Series)
Formed in Saskatoon, The Sheepdogs have followed in the footsteps of Canadian rock legends including Neil Young, The Band and The Guess Who with a bold take on classic guitar rock and polished retro sound. The band came into the national spotlight in 2011 as the first unsigned band to appear on the cover of Rolling Stone, which led to a performance on Late Night with Jimmy Fallon and a special appearance on Project Runway. A live favorite, The Sheepdogs have played at numerous festivals and headlining tours across North America, including performances at Bonnaroo, Coachella, Lollapalooza, opening for the likes of Kings of Leon and John Fogerty, and sharing the stage with Jason Sudeikis, Will Forte and Justin Long at Stones Fest. For their last self-titled LP, The Sheepdogs worked with Patrick Carney of The Black Keys to produce the collection, which debuted at No. 1 on the Canadian Top 200 SoundScan Chart, and garnered three No. 1 singles. The band has also won four JUNO awards, and been nominated for seven over their impressive career.
Share on Tumblr