Iconic Canadian rock band ALEXISONFIRE celebrate the 15th Anniversary of their self-titled debut studio album originally released on this day in 2002. To mark the 15th year anniversary, AOF has curated a personal playlist featuring songs that inspired them during their early days as a band. Stream the playlist via Spotify HERE and Apple Music HERE. We’ll also be offering a number of Anniversary sales incentives throughout the anniversary week to mark the occasion. See below for direct links and more details.

The album’s infamous cover art featured a photo taken by George Pettit at Ferndale Public School in St. Catharines, Ontario of “two Catholic high-school girls in mid-knife fight”, a description the band used at the time when asked to describe their sound. During the year that followed the release of their self-titled debut, the band shot into the spotlight with 3 videos in Heavy rotation on MuchMusic (the first “hardcore” artist to ever chart at #1 on the now defunct Power Shift chart), an MMVA nod for their debut video “Pulmonary Archery”, a Best Video Award for “Pulmonary Archery” at the Canadian Independent Music Awards, and an MMVA award for “Counterparts and Number Them”. The LP was certified Gold in Canada in 2005 – the same year the band won a JUNO for “New Group of the Year” – and went on to sell over 200K worldwide. A remixed and remastered version was released in 2014 via Dine Alone Records.


Hailing from St. Catharines, Alexisonfire rose up out of the Southern Ontario underground in late 2001, to become one of the most successful indie bands in Canada. The band’s success also reached far beyond Canada’s borders. AOF released four hugely successful studio albums, Alexisonfire (2002 – Gold certified), Watch Out (2004 – Platinum certified), Crisis (2006 – Platinum certified), and Old Crows / Young Cardinals (2009 – Gold certified). Crisis debuted at #1 on the Top 200 Soundscan chart (Canada), and Old Crows / Young Cardinals debuted at #2, and charted at #9 on the US Billboard Independent Album chart. Watch Out helped earn the band New Group of the Year at the 2004 JUNO Awards. The band also topped charts and graced several notable music magazine covers internationally (Kerrang, Blunt, Big Cheese, Canadian Musician, Exclaim!). AOF’s sold-out 10 Year Anniversary Farewell tour in December 2012 touched down on four continents in 24 days, illustrating how meaningful the band still is to their legion of fans around the world. The final show in Hamilton, Ontario was captured and a Blu-Ray titled Live At Copps is available to purchase HERE.

For updates and more information, visit Alexisonfire’s official website and follow Dine Alone’s socials.

City and Colour, acclaimed singer, songwriter and performer Dallas Green, has announced an exclusive Ontario solo, acoustic performance on July 1, 2017 at the Jackson-Triggs Niagara Estate Winery Amphitheatre in Niagara-on-the-Lake. Green will perform songs from his award-winning catalogue under the stars in celebration of Canada’s 150th anniversary.

Due to the intimate size of Jackson-Triggs Amphitheatre, fans are required to pre-register for a unique code using Ticketmaster Verified Fan® to purchase tickets. City and Colour is working with Ticketmaster in an effort to combat bots and known ticket resellers to get tickets into the hands of fans that intend to go to the concert. Only fans who have received a unique code will have the chance to purchase tickets. The registration period will run from today, Monday, May 8 at 12 PM ET until Wednesday, May 10 at 11:59 PM ET. A unique code will be deployed to verified fans on Friday May 12, 2-4 hours before tickets go on sale at 12 PM ET. Concertgoers, interested in attending the concert at Jackson-Triggs Amphitheatre can pre-register with Ticketmaster Verified Fan® by clicking here.

Previously announced, City and Colour and Dine Alone Records have curated a very special all Canadian line-up in celebration of Canada’s 150th Birthday in 2017. City and Colour along with Blue Rodeo, The Strumbellas, Stars and Dear Rouge will take over The Commons at Butler’s Barracks National Historic Site in Niagara-On-The-Lake on Sunday, July 2, 2017. The event will be hosted by Wayne & Daryl from critically-acclaimed Canadian sitcom Letterkenny. More info here: https://www.dinealonerecords.com/NOTL2017/

Consequence of Sound chats with Rumba Shaker leader Dante Schwebel about the recording process of “Ain’t Saying Nothing.” Read the performance and hear the new track here.

The joy in their performance is contagious, making it hard not to bob along with the big choruses and fiery verses.” – Consequence of Sound

Rumba Shaker also features Dallas Green (City and Colour), Johnny Radelat (Gary Clark Jr), Jack Lawrence (The Dead Weather, The Raconteurs, City and Colour). Patrick Hallahan (My Morning Jacket) and Timothy Deaux (The Whigs). The group will celebrate their debut release (out September 25) with two shows in Texas this month – listed below.

September 23rd – Austin, Texas – C-Boy’s
September 25th – Marfa, Texas – Trans Pecos Music Festival

Very pleased to announce that we will release the debut self-titled record from Rumba Shaker on September 25. Rumba Shaker is a musical and visual arts club based in Nashville, headed up by Dante Schwebel (Spanish Gold/City and Colour/Dan Auerbach).

The inaugural release from the collective features Dallas Green on guitar (City and Colour), Johnny Radelat on drums (Gary Clark Jr), Jack Lawrence on bass (Dead Weather/Raconteurs/City and Colour/JEFF the Brotherhood), Patrick Hallahan on percussion (My Morning Jacket) and Timothy Deaux on guitar (The Whigs). The collective will make its live debut with two shows in Texas this month – listed below.

September 23rd – Austin, Texas – C-Boy’s • tickets
September 25th – Marfa, Texas – Trans Pecos Music Festival • tickets

rumbashakerRumba Shaker Track Listing

  1. Aint Saying Nothing
  2. Danger Signs
  3. First Step To Love
  4. Until You Break
  5. No Time To Fall
  6. Paid Killer
  7. Ge Down On Me