James Vincent McMorrow

Stream James Vincent McMorrow’s We Move LP

A week ahead of the release of forthcoming third album We Move, James Vincent McMorrow has invited his fans to take part in an interactive location based album pre-stream. During the week leading up to the release on September 2nd, fans will be able to visit selected HMV locations across Canada to stream the album though a webpage on their mobile device. Additionally, fans who pre-order the album on vinyl at HMV Canada will receive a bonus 7″.

To tie in with the album concept James is encouraging his fans to move to different locations around the world, including cities where the album was written, to enjoy an exclusive first listen of the record. Fans worldwide will be able to visit over 60 hand-picked record stores.

We Move was written in constant transition. McMorrow decamped to Los Angeles in late-2014 for six particularly fish-out-of-water months, where the new songs began to crystallize. He then recorded between Toronto, his home city of Dublin, and London over the course of roughly the next year. The album’s backbone was formed in each of these places by a few key producers that McMorrow met during his travels, who were able to finesse the record’s warm, vintage yet forward-thinking feel.  The result is an album about movement – geographically, mentally, and emotionally. Far from the dense, protective imagery at the heart of ‘Post Tropical’, ‘We Move’ is McMorrow’s most honest statement yet, touching on anxiety and social unease.

We Move will be released on September 2nd, with tracks ‘Rising Water’, ‘Get Low’, and ‘Killer Whales’ having already been released online. We Move follows 2010’s Early In The Morning, and acclaimed follow-up Post Tropical. 2016 has already seen McMorrow surpass 100+ million streams, be sampled on Drake’s Views, collaborate with Kygo, and feature in the quickly-viral trailer for the latest series of Game of Thrones. In support of the new release, James Vincent McMorrow will tour Canada in November.



  1. Rising Water
  2. I Lie Awake Every Night
  3. Last Story
  4. One Thousand Times
  5. Evil
  6. Get Low
  7. Killer Whales
  8. Seek Another
  9. Surreal
  10. Lost Angles

Pre-order here: https://jamesvmcmorrow.lnk.to/wemove

Share on Tumblr