Sam Coffey & The Iron Lungs



“Big, bold, and full of heart, there’s no doubting Sam Coffey & The Iron Lungs have made the ‘Real One’ with their latest body of work.” – Northern Transmissions

“Delicate yet punishing, Sam Coffey & The Iron Lungs have taken the next step with Real One, closing the gap on their way to rock’s royalty.” – V13

“Sam Coffey & The Iron Lungs is a plea for expression and communication in relationships, for emotional honesty and openness. It’s a healthy counterpoint to the cocky, hyper-masculine tradition of rock and roll.”  VICE

“Good power-pop records—the ones that capture the spirit of the genre’s forebears—are tough to come by but Sam Coffey and the Iron Lungs very much hold their own…This is the sound of dirtbags having fun and falling in love.” – Pitchfork

“Backed by less distortion and more straightforward guitar hooks than before, the band’s vocal melodies achieve maximum catchiness while still brimming with punkish angst.” – Consequence of Sound

“Gloriously bombastic power-pop.”- Spin

“Sam Coffey and the Iron Lungs evoke images of beer-stained floors and raucous mosh pits…it’s a perfect backing to a solid night out with a close gang of pals.” – Exclaim!


Toronto-based powerhouse Sam Coffey & The Iron Lungs are excited to release their 3rd studio LP Real One via Dine Alone Records on April 19th.
The latest focus track from the LP, “Lately”, is one near and dear to Coffey’s heart. “I get a bit bashful when I think about this song! I wrote it when I first started dating my girlfriend so it’s really precious to me.  I remember leaving her place and floating home and up my back fire escape to my room and writing it in the same amount of time it took to play.  It’s one of the more ‘sultry’ songs I’ve written and never really expected to have to explain it.“

For a sneak preview of their thunderous, off-the-floor live performances, check out  “What The City Needs”, recorded as part of the LootBag Live Sessions, and available to watch and share via V13 HERE

Sam Coffey & The Iron Lungs
Horseshoe Hootenanny Livestream Series
Show Date: March 19, 2021
Venue: Horseshoe Tavern
Ticket Link: 

Real One is produced by Kevin Ratterman, who is known for his work with White ReaperStrands of Oak and My Morning Jacket, and is a work of loving, earnest maximalism. The ambitious record features blown-out gang vocals, sweeping piano, shimmering saxophone, romantic string arrangements, and resounding guitars reigning across 11 tracks. 

The band’s bombastic first single “Back With the Gang” climbed to #23 on the Active Radio charts, and was recently featured on Sportsnet’s Hockey Night in Canada and their flagship podcast 31 Thoughts with Jeff Marek & Elliotte Friedman.

Late last year, the band recorded a raucous Sunrise Records Live Session at ARC Recording Studio, with engineer Julius Butty at the helm, who notably produced 3 of Alexisonfire’s Platinum-selling records: Old Crows / Young Cardinals (2009), Crisis (2006), and Watch Out! (2004). Watch the session HERE.

Along with his band mates Dave Tyson (keys), Liam Doyle (lead guitar), Joel “French” Desbois (rhythm guitar), Richard Stanley (bass) and Connor Glen (drums), Coffey has created an album that could be staged on Broadway. Across the album Coffey explores different voices and tones, putting them on like a stage actor might costumes. Real One glides from arena-rock rippers (“Back With The Gang”) to fringed country gallops (“Magic”) to slow-burning Brill Building balladry (“Gates Of Heaven”) to beloved Thin Lizzy-adjacent workouts (“She Knows”). To complete these anthemics, the band called on their community for help: vocalist Siânteuse contributed soaring operatic vocals to four tracks, while Destroyer’s Joseph Shabason’s sax solos alternate between brooding patiently on “Gates Of Heaven” and screaming boldly on “15 Minutes,” and Paul Erlichman of Ducks Unlimited and Elrichman arranged the string quartet who underpin the album’s most dramatic moments. “It’s a really triumphant, victorious record,” says Coffey. “I always thought I wasn’t where I should be, but now I feel like I am.”

It’s been three years since Sam Coffey & The Iron Lungs released their self-titled LP on Dine Alone. An album that elevated their rough and ready garage stylings into something with true arena rock ambitions, the album was a milestone for the band that saw them adding surprise commercial radio success in their native Canada to high praise from international media outlets like Pitchfork, VICE, Consequence of Sound, BrooklynVegan and Spin, while taking their joyous live show on the road on a bigger scale then they ever had before as they toured with acts like FIDLAR, The Dirty Nil, Frank Turner and Billie Joe Armstrong’s The Longshot. 

Real One Tracklist:
1) Back With The Gang
2) What This City Needs
3) Magic
4) Sounds Alright
5) Gates of Heaven
6) 15 Minutes
7) Lately
8) She Knows
9) Spirit of The Radio
10) RUN Angel
11) Real One


Photo Credit: Kate Dockeray

Clockwise: Richard Stanley, Dave Tyson, Joel Desbois, Connor Glen, Liam Doyle

Centre: Sam Coffey

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram 

Share on Tumblr