New Swears Debut Double Single “Bon Voyage” + “Rolling Stone”



Link to hi-res photo: | Photo credit: New Swears
L to R: Stoney, Nick Nofun, Sammy Scorpion, Beej Eh, Handsome Mike

“These four Ottawa dudes have written a genuinely fun record—handclaps and chugging, sunny riffs in tow—full of songs about smoking weed, drinking, having sex, and, generally speaking, not giving a shit and having a good time.”  – Pitchfork

“…one of the most electrifying live rock shows in the country that’s a mix of acrobatics, drunken antics and just plain stupidity.” – Noisey-Vice

Masterminds of jangly power pop anthems and dynamic, energetic live shows…” – Exclaim!

(April 18, 2019) – Ottawa-based rock and rollers New Swears have debuted a ‘double-hitter’ from their upcoming album Night Mirror out later this year on Dine Alone Records. The new double single featuring a-side “Bon Voyage”, and b-side “Rolling Stone”, is available for your listening pleasure today on DSPs HERE. “The whole album itself is about growing and moving on to new chapters,” asserts the band. “We like to keep things fresh and try new things…not walk over our same old footsteps. Sometimes when you’re making records you can feel pressure to sound or be a certain way. We like to remind ourselves, there are no rules.”

Self-produced, New Swears’ fourth full-length LP, Night Mirror, could be considered a bit of a departure from their critically acclaimed 2017 Dine Alone release And the Magic of Horses but that shouldn’t surprise anyone who follows them. One thing that has been consistent since the band’s debut is their unpredictability. While holding true to their DIY ethic and punk roots, they continue to diversify their sound as they seamlessly venture into campfire-style country ‘feels’, showcasing killer vocal harmonies, and introducing pedal steel and harmonica to the mix. The upcoming album features some of the band’s most finely crafted songs, exploring topics of inner-reflection and ushering in a 5th band member on keys/piano.

Hailing from Ottawa, ON, New Swears – featuring members Stoney, Nick Nofun, Sammy Scorpion, Beej Eh and new addition Handsome Mike – formed in 2012 when the original four members shared a room and a pair of bunk beds in the infamous DIY venue the Fun Boy Club House (RIP). This scuzzy punk paradise included two bars, a mini-ramp, rats scurrying through broken beer bottles, and some of the wildest live shows Canada’s capital has ever seen.

While New Swears’ destructive self-released videos landed them on the radar of local law enforcement, the band also earned a rep for their riotous performances, releasing two DIY LPs, and raging across Canada, the US, and Europe. Sharing stages with like-minded rock ‘n’ rollers Diarrhea Planet, Black Lips, and PUP, their shows became infamous for explosions of silly string, confetti, and human pyramids.

In late 2016, New Swears signed to indie-powerhouse Dine Alone Records releasing their “Brand New Spot”/“Sugar Heavy Metal” 7” followed by their studio album, And the Magic of Horses in 2017 which received 9/10 in Exclaim!

But who are New Swears, really? A heartfelt and eye-opening video Bio about the band narrated by artist Buddy Smiles recently surfaced and is available HERE.

Link to hi-res album art:

Night Mirror Track list

Bon Voyage
Jesus Take The Wheel
Concrete Cowboy
Rolling Stone
Bells Corners
Everybody Dies
Mambo #6
Man on my Own

New Swears: Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

Dine Alone Records:  Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Dine Alone Store

Share on Tumblr