Lucius announces new record, Good Grief

Lucius’ highly-anticipated new album Good Grief will be released March 11 via Dine Alone in Canada. Watch the official music video for the album’s lead single, “Born Again Teen,” HERE. The album will be available for iTunes pre-order on Friday, December 4 at 12:01 AM (in all time zones) at with a digital deluxe release featuring three cover songs and three demo tracks available here:


Good Grief was produced by Shawn Everett, Lucius and Bob Ezrin and was mixed by Tom Elmhirst. The new music follows the band’s critically acclaimed debut album, Wildewoman, which The New York Times praised for its “luscious, luminous, lilting lullabies.” Wildewoman was named to various 2013 year end lists including, Rolling Stone, NPR and Paste.

The band is lead by its co-founders and vocalists Jess Wolfe and Holly Laessig, accompanied by multi-instrumentalists Andrew Burri, Peter Lalish and Dan Molad. Wolfe and Laessig met in 2005 while attending Berklee College of Music. Since forming, Lucius has toured extensively, playing headline shows worldwide, major festival appearances including Bonnaroo, Austin City Limits, Lollapalooza, Governors Ball and Newport Folk Festival. Recently, they have toured with The Decemberists, My Morning Jacket, Sara Bareilles, Tegan and Sara, Jack White and The Head and The Heart.

Of Good Grief, vocalist Jess Wolfe says, “When we started writing for this record, we had been away from home for nearly two years. We had just returned from tour, having gone through such varied emotions—loneliness, sadness and exhaustion alongside excitement, fulfillment and some of the most joyful moments in our lives…Whenever one of us had an idea or a feeling, the other was already a witness to it and could help navigate through it—for the two of us, this usually came in song form.” Vocalist Holly Laessig adds, “…When considering titles, we wanted to be sure to acknowledge any serious subject matter, while simultaneously allowing ourselves a comic sigh of relief from any personal turmoil. Ha! The yin and yang of the record naturally unveiled itself and, so, Good Grief.”


  1. Madness
  2. Something About You
  3. What We Have (To Change)
  4. My Heart Got Caught On Your Sleeve
  5. Almost Makes Me Wish For Rain
  6. Gone Insane
  7. Truce
  8. Almighty Gosh
  9. Born Again Teen
  10. Better Look Back
  11. Dusty Trails

More details will be announced as they become available. For more information on tour dates, please visit

Share on Tumblr