Dune Rats

Dune Rats announce new album, premiere video

Australian stoner-punk band Dune Rats have premiered a unique, interactive video today for their new single Scott Green at HighTimes.com. The track is lifted from their new album, The Kids Will Know It’s Bullshit, which will be released on February 3rd. The 11-track album was produced by FIDLAR’S Zac Carper and was recorded at Head Gap Studios in Melbourne. It will be available for pre-order in North America on December 30th.

The official video for Scott Green is a first not only for Dunies but for Australian music videos in general and it’s f*cking awesome. The interactive visuals take the viewer on a ‘choose your own adventure’ style journey through a house party and invites them to choose which room the band will enter and how they will party. The aim is to help the band solve the mystery of ‘Who’s Scott Green?’ – If the joke hasn’t hit you yet, check out the boys’ Facebook page for more info.

Video director Mac De Souza from Hype Republic says of the Scott Green video “The concept is the band are heading to a house party, and have their stash of weed stolen off them out the front by our ‘Scott Green’ character who runs into the house. The chase for Scott Green begins and they search for him high and low throughout this fantasy-like house party with 4 different themed rooms based on drugs you’d see at a typical Aussie houseparty (weed room, ecstasy room, cocaine room and LSD room). The viewer gets to choose which door they go in, and each room provides a ‘clue’ to where Scott Green might be hiding in a ‘Where’s Wally-like game adventure.”

BC Michaels of Dune Rats adds “Had a f*cking blast making this clip, we jumped straight off the plane from Europe, filmed for three days straight and then got on a plane to the states. Stoked with how it turned out and everyone who put in effort! Good shit legends.”

Watch the regular version of the video below, or check out the interactive version via HighTimes.com.

The Kids Will Know It’s Bullshit is the second full length album by Dune Rats, with most of the tracks being written in beach shacks across the east coast of Australia, although Scott Green had its own unique origins in the US. “We made Scott Green out at Joshua Tree in America with Zac from FIDLAR. We had 5 days to write some songs in between tours in the US & UK and we busted out a fuck load of tunes having a blast in the middle of bum fuck nowhere.”

The Kids Will Know It’s Bullshit Tracklisting:

  1. Don’t Talk
  2. 6 Pack
  3. Demolition Derby
  4. Braindead
  5. Scott Green
  6. Never Gonna Get High
  7. Like Before
  8. Counting Sheep
  9. Buzz-kill
  10. Mary
  11. Bullshit
Share on Tumblr