Dream Nails

Dream Nails Share Climate Justice Call To Arms

This Is The Summer

Self-Titled Debut LP Out This Friday August 28 On Dine Alone & Alcopop!

“The best DIY all-girl punk queertet since Bikini Kill… patriarchy-crushingly good.”

 “…a political push that’ll send any audience member reeling”

“On their new single “Vagina Police,” [Dream Nails] is doing what they do best — throwing their middle fingers up at the whole system.

“An Effervescent sense of fun that fizzes throughout”

“Ready to take on change and disrupt the World”

Dream Nails have released a final preview of their self-titled debut album which is set to drop this Friday via Dine Alone & Alcopop! Records. “‘This Is The Summer’ is a song about how our climate is breaking down irreversibly,” says singer Janey Starling. “Colonial capitalism, waged by UK governments and corporations for centuries, has ravaged our earth.”

WATCH: Dream Nails’ “This Is The Summer” video on YouTube

“We need to be urgently fighting for migrant rights so the UK welcomes climate refugees displaced by countries hit by extreme weather. We must demand transparency from oil companies who relentlessly put profit before people, even as the world burns.”

Guitarist Anya Pearson adds: “We wrote ‘This Is The Summer’ in the heatwave of 2018, recorded it in another heatwave in 2019 and now we are releasing it in yet another heatwave! Our video for the track shows how the current pandemic, white supremacy and climate change are not separate issues but interlinked. The song is about the brazen complacency of getting drunk and catching a tan in the park while the world burns.”

Directed by Guen Murroni and filmed with a women, nonbinary and trans crew, the video mixes protest footage with the band doing newsreader parodies. It also features powerful footage of the band performing live in a scrapyard in the sweltering August 2020 heatwave.

In order to celebrate the impending release of their debut album the band will be playing a pair of live streaming shows, one for their UK and European fans on September 5th and one on September 10th for North America. Keep an eye on the bands socials to enter and receive a link to Dream Nails’ House Party on September 10 and for a chance to win prizes including a pair of roller skates, a Dream Nails LP on red vinyl, Dream Nails Zines, and more!

Dream Nails self-titled LP is due out August 28th via Dine Alone and Alcopop! Pre-orders for ‘Dream Nails’ are live today and can be found HERE. Physical vinyl bundle includes a 40-page signed zine. In true punk DIY fashion, the zine is handmade by the band, featuring lyrics, articles and background to the songs on the album.

Live Streams:
September 5 – UK/Euro (7:30PM BST)
September 10 – North American show (7:30 ET)

Track list:
1. Affirmations (Skit)
2. Jillian
3. Do You Want To Go To Work (Skit)
4. Corporate Realness
5. Text Me Back (Chirpse Degree Burns)
6. Women And Non-Binary People To The Front (Skit)
7. Vagina Police
8. DIY
9. People Are Like Cities
10. Swimming Pool
11. This Is The Summer
12. Fighting Tips (Skit)
13. Payback
14. Kiss My Fist

Press Pic (Marieke Macklon)

Share on Tumblr